The Song Goes On (Dbl CD) – Cyril Tawney ADA108CD




large product photo

Track Listing:
Disc 1:
1  I Wonder As I Wander  
2  Roving Journeyman  
3  Baby Lie Easy  
4  The Merry Golden Tree   
5  Soldier Soldier
6  Chase The Buffalo    
7  All Through The Grog    
8  Crantock Games    
9  Cruising Round Yarmouth     
10 A Jug Of This      
11 Van Diemen’s Land     
12 As Soon As This Pub Closes  
13 Cheering The Queen   
14 Bluey Brink
15 Stanley The Rat   
16 Banks Of The Roses    
17 The Wild Rover   

Disc 2:
1  The Reuben James    
2  Farewell To Whiskey  
3  Early One Evening    
4  The Ball Of Yarn   
5  Five Foot Flirt
6  All Through The Beer  
7  Noble Fleet of Whalers  
8  Lean and Unwashed Tiffy  
9  Seeds of Love  
10 Cruise Of The Calabar  
11 The Ship ‘Nightingale’  
12 Haul Boys Haul  
13 The Man At The Nore  
14 The Barley Mow  
15 Roll Down  
16 The Song Goes On



This double CD of 32 classic tracks was specially compiled for the event
“Celebrating Cyril” held at Cecil Sharp House, London, on Saturday 14 April 2007 – celebrating the life and times of one of England’s most respected singers and
songwriters, Cyril Tawney.    It contains tracks from the Cyril Tawney Archives,
re-mastered recordings of traditional and self-penned gems, with the odd exception, plus an especially recorded version of Mick Ryan’s “The Song Goes On” written for Cyril and dedicated to him at the Sidmouth Festival Tribute Concert 2005 featuring Mick Ryan, Pete Harris, Keith Kendrick, Sylvia Needham, and Doug Bailey (the original version is on “Island of Apples” by Mick Ryan and Pete Harris on Wildgoose Records).

“The Song Goes On is a magnificent celebration of Cyril Tawney’s artistry.“ …
David Kidman

Cyril was one of the founders of our folk revival, and one of its most important artists.   His music is his legacy to us.   Wherever singing people gather together his songs are heard, and his name remembered. That's the kind of immortality that befits Cyril Tawney, 'English Folk Singer'. …  Roy Harris

The Song Goes On is an impressive and interesting collection …. if you want to listen to a remarkable historical record of English folk music, then The Song Goes On will fit the bill perfectly!” … Mike Wilson, The Living Tradition

CD £13




Remember, ADA is just a phone call away!